ما الذي نوفره لك

من نحن

نجمع الطعام المتبرع به ، ونتلقى الدعم من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ، ونشتري الطعام لسد الثغرات ، ونقوم بإعداد الطعام للتوزيع ، ونقوم بتوزيع الطعام من خلال برنامج Mobile Food Pantry ، ونوفر الطعام لشبكة شركائنا ، ونغذي ، ونمكّن و تمكن الجيران من الحصول على بداية جديدةنجمع الطعام المتبرع به ، ونتلقى الدعم من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ، ونشتري الطعام لسد الثغرات ، ونقوم بإعداد الطعام للتوزيع ، ونقوم بتوزيع الطعام من خلال برنامج Mobile Food Pantry ، ونوفر الطعام لشبكة شركائنا ، ونغذي ، ونمكّن و تمكن الجيران من الحصول على بداية جديدة

في Feeding America West Michigan ، نعتقد أن الجوع غير مقبول وأن مجتمعنا لديه القدرة على تغيير الحياة - وجبة واحدة في كل مرة. لهذا السبب قمنا بتجميع شبكة من الشركاء الذين نعمل جنبًا إلى جنب في مهمتنا للحد من الجوع وزيادة الأمن الغذائي في غرب ميشيغان وشبه الجزيرة العليا.

انقر لتوسيع الفئات أدناه والتعلم بالضبط ما نقوم به على الطريق لتوزيع ما يعادل 21 مليون وجبة طعام في المتوسط ​​على الجيران المحتاجين في جميع أنحاء منطقة الخدمة التي تضم 40 مقاطعة كل عام.

ما الذي نوفره لك

نجمع الطعام المتبرع به

بنك الطعام ، له الفروع ومنظمات التوزيع تلقي الغذاء المتبرع به من مصادر متعددة بما في ذلك المزارعين والمصنعين والموزعين وتجار التجزئة ووزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ومحركات الطعام.

فضلات الطعام يحدث في كل مرحلة من مراحل النظام الغذائي - من المزرعة إلى مائدة العشاء. تشير التقديرات إلى أن ما يصل إلى 40٪ من الطعام يُهدر في أمريكا الشمالية. من خلال استعادة الغذاء الآمن والفائض ، يمنع بنك الطعام من أن ينتهي به المطاف في مكب النفايات.

في بعض الأحيان يتم تسليم الطعام إلى أحد مستودعاتنا ، ولكن في كثير من الأحيان يقوم بنك الطعام بتلقي التبرعات. في المناطق التي لدينا فيها منظمة توزيع شريكة (PDO) أو منظمة إعادة توزيع (RDO) ، يتعاملون مع التبرعات المحلية لنا.

نشتري الطعام لسد الثغرات

نعتقد أن الطعام المغذي هو جزء أساسي من الحياة الصحية. مع وضع هذا الإيمان في الاعتبار ، نشتري الطعام بتكاليف منخفضة لسد أي فجوات غذائية تركتها التبرعات وأغذية وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية. على سبيل المثال ، نقوم بتعويض المزارعين لاستعادة محاصيلهم في نهاية الموسم التي كانت ستظل بدون حصاد.

في حالات أخرى ، نقوم بشراء المواد الغذائية السائبة مباشرة من تجار التجزئة بأسعار مخفضة. نادرًا ما نحصل على هذه العناصر كتبرعات ، ولكنها عناصر يحتاجها شركاؤنا في الوكالات بشدة - مثل الوجبات الخفيفة المستقرة على الرفوف لبرامج حقائب الظهر.

المانحون والشركات والمانحون الأفراد ، اجعل هذا ممكنا.

نقوم بإعداد الطعام للتوزيع

عند الوصول إلى بنك الطعام ، يتم فحص الأطعمة ، وإذا لزم الأمر ، يتم فرزها وإعادة تعبئتها وتصنيفها من قبل الموظفين والمتطوعين. المتطوعين هي شريان الحياة لبنك الطعام. في كل عام ، يخدم مئات المتطوعين آلاف الساعات في مستودعاتنا ، ويقومون بمهام مثل فرز التبرعات الغذائية ، وتقسيم المواد الغذائية السائبة إلى أكياس بحجم الأسرة وإنشاء صناديق وجبات. بدون تفانيهم في مكافحة الجوع ، لم نتمكن من إحداث الفرق الذي نقوم به.

بعد معالجتها ، يتم تخزين الطعام بأمان حتى يمكن توزيعه في جميع أنحاء منطقة الخدمة التي تضم 40 مقاطعة.

نقوم بتوزيع المواد الغذائية من خلال برنامج Mobile Food Pantry

تجمع برنامج مخزن الطعام المتنقل يجلب البقالة الطازجة مباشرة إلى المجتمعات ذات الحاجة العالية للدعم الغذائي. يعتبر مخزن الطعام المتنقل في الأساس سوقًا للمزارعين على عجلات ، لذا فهو وسيلة فعالة لتوزيع الأطعمة الطازجة والقابلة للتلف لمن يحتاجون إليها. استعدادًا لكل حدث ، تمتلئ إحدى شاحنات بنك الطعام بـ 5,000 - 20,000 رطل من الطعام - نصفها عبارة عن منتجات طازجة - ويتم نقلها إلى الموقع حيث سيتم توزيعها بواسطة أحد شركاء Mobile Pantry.

نحن نقدم الطعام لشبكة شركائنا

لدينا القدرة على التعامل مع كميات كبيرة من المواد الغذائية لدينا شركاء الوكالة -بما في ذلك مخازن الطعام ونوادي الطعام (التعاونيات) والملاجئ وغيرها - غير قادرة على التعامل معها لأنها تفتقر إلى المساحة الكافية أو المعدات أو الموظفين. لذلك ، نحن المصدر الأساسي والأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة للغذاء للعديد من شركائنا من الوكالات. برامج الإغاثة من الجوع.

تتنوع البرامج التي يديرها شركاؤنا في الوكالات ، لكن لديهم جميعًا شيء واحد مشترك: هدف القضاء على الجوع في مجتمعاتهم. الشراكة مع بنك الطعام تعزز قدرتها على خدمة الجيران المحتاجين.

نحن نغذي ونمكّن الجيران من الحصول على بداية جديدة

أكثر من 30 في المائة من المواد الغذائية التي توزعها شركة Feeding America West Michigan هي فواكه وخضروات طازجة أو مجمدة أو مستقرة على الأرفف. يتكون الباقي من اللحوم ومنتجات الألبان والأطعمة الأخرى مثل المخبوزات والعديد من العناصر غير القابلة للتلف.

نحن مصدر الغذاء المغذي من خلال موقعنا مبادرة البداية الطازجة لسد أي ثغرات خلفتها التبرعات وأغذية وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية. بشكل عام ، تهدف المبادرة إلى تغذية وتمكين وتمكين جيراننا من الازدهار. لا نوفر لجيراننا المحتاجين طعامًا طازجًا ومغذيًا فحسب ، بل نسلحهم أيضًا بالمعرفة والأدوات لوضع الأساس لحياة صحية.

من خلال العمليات المذكورة أعلاه ، نعمل كل يوم لجعل رؤيتنا - مجتمع يتغذى فيه جميع الجيران ويتم تمكينهم ضمن نظام غذائي منصف - حقيقة واقعة. قراءة مدونتنا وتواصل معنا على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعيfeedingwestmich للمتابعة بينما نعمل معًا للقضاء على الجوع في منطقة خدمتنا. انظر كيف يمكنك اتخاذ إجراءات ضد الجوع.

What We Do

We gather donated food, We receive support from the USDA, We purchase food to fill the gaps, We prepare food for distribution, We distribute food through our Mobile Food Pantry program, We provide food to our network of partners, We nourish, empower and enable neighbors to have a Fresh StartWe gather donated food, We receive support from the USDA, We purchase food to fill the gaps, We prepare food for distribution, We distribute food through our Mobile Food Pantry program, We provide food to our network of partners, We nourish, empower and enable neighbors to have a Fresh Start

At Feeding America West Michigan, we believe hunger is unacceptable and that our community has the power to change lives — one meal at a time. That’s why we’ve assembled a network of partners that we work alongside on our mission to reduce hunger and increase food security in West Michigan and the Upper Peninsula.

Click to expand the categories below and learn exactly what we do on the road to distributing an average of 21 million meals’ worth of food to neighbors in need throughout our 40-county service area each year.

What We Do

We gather donated food

The food bank, its branches and distribution organizations receive donated food from various sources including farmers, manufacturers, distributors, retailers, the USDA and food drives.

Food waste occurs at every stage of the food system — from the farm to the dinner table. Estimates show that up to 40% of food is wasted in North America. By reclaiming safe, surplus food, the food bank prevents it from ending up in a landfill.

Sometimes the food is delivered to one of our warehouses, but frequently the food bank picks up donations. In regions where we have a Partner Distribution Organization (PDO) or a Redistribution Organization (RDO), they handle local donations for us.

Permalink.

We purchase food to fill the gaps

We believe nutritious food is an essential piece of a healthy life. With this belief in mind, we purchase food at low costs to fill any nutritional gaps left by donations and USDA foods. For example, we compensate farmers to reclaim their end-of-season crops that would otherwise go unharvested.

In other instances, we purchase bulk food directly from retailers at discounted prices. These are items we receive as donations only rarely, but ones our agency partners desperately need — such as shelf-stable snacks for backpack programs.

Grantors, business and individual donors, make this possible.

Permalink.

We prepare food for distribution

Upon arrival at the food bank, food is inspected and if necessary, sorted, repackaged and labeled by staff and volunteers. Volunteers are the food bank’s lifeblood. Each year, hundreds of volunteers serve thousands of hours in our warehouse, doing tasks such as sorting through food donations, portioning bulk food items into family-sized bags and creating meal boxes. Without their dedication to the fight against hunger, we couldn’t make the difference that we do.

After it has been processed, the food is then safely stored until it can be distributed throughout our 40-county service area.

Permalink.

We distribute food through our Mobile Food Pantry program

Our Mobile Food Pantry program brings fresh groceries directly into communities with a high need for food support. A Mobile Food Pantry is essentially a farmers market on wheels, so it’s an effective avenue for distributing fresh, perishable food to those who need it. In preparation for each event, one of the food bank’s trucks is filled with 5,000 – 20,000 pounds of food — at least half of which is fresh produce — and driven to the site where it will be distributed by one of our Mobile Pantry partners.

Permalink.

We provide food to our network of partners

We have the ability to handle large quantities of food that our agency partners — including food pantries, food clubs (co-ops), shelters and more — are unable to handle because they lack sufficient space, equipment or staff. Therefore, we are the primary and most cost-effective source of food for many of our agency partners’ hunger-relief programs.

The programs our agency partners run are diverse, but they all have one thing in common: a goal to end hunger in their communities. Partnering with the food bank enhances their capacity to serve neighbors in need.

Permalink.

We nourish, empower and enable neighbors to have a Fresh Start

40 percent of the food Feeding America West Michigan distributes is fresh, frozen or shelf-stable fruits and vegetables. The rest is comprised of meat, dairy and other foods such as baked goods and various non-perishable items.

We source nutritious food through our Fresh Start initiative to fill any gaps left by donations and USDA food. Overall, the initiative aims to nourish, empower and enable our neighbors to thrive. Not only are we providing our neighbors in need with fresh, nutritious food, we are also arming them with knowledge and tools to set the foundation for a healthy life.

Permalink.

Through the processes listed above, we work every day to make our vision – a community in which all neighbors are nourished and empowered within an equitable food system – a reality. Read our blog and connect with us on social media @feedingwestmich to follow along as we work together to end hunger in our service area. See how you can take action against hunger.